WhatsApp updates it’s ‘Delete for Everyone’ feature

 

Third party image source

WhatsApp recently introduced the Delete for Everyone.

 

(Read about it here: All you NEED to know about WhatsApp’s latest ‘Delete for everyone’ feature)

This feature which allowed users to delete the messages sent to the wrong person. The message can be deleted only if it’s not yet read and you have the option to review and delete it from the recipient’s chat for only for 7 minutes from sending the text. This feature works the same for individual & group chats including texts, images, contact cards and videos but it does not work for broadcast messages.

However, WhatsApp increased this time limit to 1 hour, 8 minutes and 16 seconds. A new feature is on its way- ‘Block Revoke Request’. The company has noticed that some of the users are using the modified version of the app and are deleting their 3-year-old messages. According to a tweet by WaBetaInfo (@wabetainfo), a Twitter account that tracks changes in WhatsApp’s beta builds, the app will silently add the ‘Block revoke request’ feature, which will prevent the misuse of Delete for everyone feature.

The Twitter account mentions, “In order to stop these bad users, WhatsApp has implemented a “Block revoke request” feature. When the user deletes a message for everyone, WhatsApp sends to the recipient(s) a new message having the same ID of the message that the user wants to revoke.”

The report also suggests that if the phone of the user is switched off during the time the Delete for Everyone’ request has been sent out and it remains off for next 24 hours, then the request generated will be considered invalid and the message will remain in the app.

 

Advertisements